The Rhine Continues – Rüdesheim

rhine-08

To continue my blogging theme on the Rhine River from last week I thought I’d take you on a journey along the Rhine from Rüdesheim to Saint Goar over a sequence of short blogs. This is my favourite section of the Upper Middle Rhine Valley and is nearby our home too. Stunning scenery and a working river as well.

rhine-02

Now you can travel this part of the Rhine in various Human contraptions such as The Car, a road with good views runs down both sides of the river. By train, good views and also runs close to the river at the bottom of the valley.

rhine-10

By bicycle, these Human powered things are great if you are not a dog… Although I have seen those yippee little dogs lodged in baskets on the front of their Humans bikes, looks way to undignified for me. Anyway it would seem there are great bike tracks all along the Rhine. I notice us Hunds have to be on a lead though. No catching pigeons then… Boy you gotta love the Germans for the signage eh?

rhine-09  But my favorite method is by boat. Now I’m not talking about the car boat thing I blogged about last time, no this is a proper boat with comfy seats, food and everything. There are regular ferry boats travelling up and down the river stopping at little villages along the way. The cost is pretty reasonable too, about 25 Euros for the trip from Rüdesheim to Saint Goar which takes 2-3 hours. You Humans can even sip a nice cold Riesling and let the scenery trundle by you.

Let’s kick this journey off in Rüdesheim then.

rhine-01

A beautiful little town on the Rhine. This is my journey so I won’t be doing much of the tourist spiel you can get that from here. You can even ride the cable car to the top of the valley for some brilliant views over the Rhine and the vineyards.

rhine-03  Loads of great places to eat and drink down little alleyways and side roads. Love the cobblestones on me paws

rhine-04

The Carillon (Glockenspiel). Its supposed to make some kind of racket for the Humans once an hour but I think its broken cos I didn’t hear anything.

rhine-05

Now it seems my Humans have spotted ice-cream. I love ice-cream! . One problem, no dogs are allowed in which is very unusual for Germany I must say.

rhine-06    They even have Kiwifruit flavor!

rhine-07  If I just push my nose against this door I’m sure I can get in…

Did not happen! But Princess-Human gave me some of hers, very yummy.

Well that’s enough for this short part on my travels up the Rhine, I hope you enjoyed it. In my next blog on the Rhine I think a stop at the small village of Lorch would be perfect to stretch the legs!

R

My home page

One thought on “The Rhine Continues – Rüdesheim

Leave a Reply

