A Dog Rants About Bureaucracy, VETs and Goldfish

gvet01  This morning I was minding my own business after the wee-Humans had trotted off to school (although they have other names for it un-repeatable here) when I notice  keys jingling, comfy (i.e. not walking) shoes going on and then The Car lead comes out. Oh no, not The Car… As usual I sneak off somewhere hoping they will forget me, never works…

Next thing I’m in The Car off to what I suspect is The VET but the direction we take is different. Very strange.  We stop some 30 minutes later deep in the inner Frankfurt suburbs.

gvet02

Can we go home? I have a bad feeling about this place

This monster building turns out to be the German Commercial Registrar for all things vehicle related oh and… … dogs, go figure! We really are here to see a VET but oh no not just any VET it’s the official Government of Germany VET.

gvet03

What? I’m out of here… Let me go…

gvet04

I think I see my escape exit. Easy to shake the collar then straight for those bushes…

Turned out better than I expected. No examinations, no prodding and poking and sticking cold sharp things into you. Having said that the whole reason for the visit sounds really complicated and unnecessary but officials love their bureaucracy it keeps em in a job. We are here to negotiate an appointment with the Official VET close to my Australian departure date for a paper stamp that Australian officials will recognize and then accept me for Quarantine. Can’t be done on the phone or by email as the date is over 8 weeks away, it’s the rule…

You see as s I approach my departure date for Australia we must organise a last local VET visit and then official Government VET certification of said visit just 5 days before arrival into Australia. With three days (bloody hell, they didn’t tell me that before!) journey time to Australia that gives only 2 days in Frankfurt to get it done. Now to complicate this even more the German Government VET in Frankfurt is only open 1 hour a week on a Wednesday, good work if you can get it eh? Of course the Wednesday window is not working for us. Hence our visit to, god forbid, organise an appointment outside the government official hour.

Also just to make life even more difficult Australia now demands all animals must be quarantined in Melbourne regardless of their final destination which is even further away than Perth. I guess it makes life easier for those government workers. I mean who cares about the customer (make no mistake we are customers you should see what they charge for this) anyway, it’s not like we have a choice.

AND… I just found out I have to spend TEN DAYS in quarantine in Melbourne then be stuffed on yet another plane for 3 or 4 hours to reunite with my family in Perth! This just gets better and better…

Not sure I want to be reunited now what with all this hassle and all these stories of weird animals that can eat you in fiendish ways, who would want to go live in Australia? Perhaps I will just stay right here in Frankfurt eh, you guys have a lovely life in Australia … just kidding but what an ordeal. My Humans should have bought a goldfish!

gvet05

R

My home page

 

One thought on “A Dog Rants About Bureaucracy, VETs and Goldfish

Leave a Reply

