A Border Collie Returning Across Borders

Yep, heading home to Frankfurt, Germany.

uk0715-01

We are at the ferry port at Dover, England. Check out the cool Combi-Vans traveling with us on the ferry.

uk0715-02

OK the weather is better than our earlier crossing but still I’m apprehensive, I still have to stay in The Car for two hours so I’ll do what I do great, sleep then!

uk0715-03

I’m a little sad about leaving England for what will most probably be my last time. Sigh… Good bye White Cliffs of Dover.

 

uk0715-05

Well we made it across the English Channel no problem. First stop as always is to stock up with yummy French food in Dunkirk at the local Auchan Supermarket. Now this time guys, more Human treats like that fabulous French ham for me eh?

 

uk1115-11

We are off! Heading across France for the Belgian border, all buckled up and snuggling into Princess Human with my usual worry about the world look. Boss Human says I’m old beyond my years. I say I’m wise beyond me years. The world out there is a dodgy dangerous place you know…

 

uk1115-13

So… a Border Collie crossing borders again…  Another long queue of cars and trucks as we approach the Belgian border but we get through fairly quickly this time. Onward into Belgium then, around Brussels on its always busy R0 ring road. We then slingshot out onto the E40 motorway towards Liege. Not far now to the German border and the border town of Aachen beyond.

We cross the German border before Aachen, no problems but then 20 or so kilometers into Germany anther big road block disguised as road works with heavily armed police inspected cars and trucks. Blinding lights shining in our windows… With our car’s foreign GB plates I thought we were gonnas but no,  apart from Grumpy Human going the wrong way once waved through which caused much yelling and cursing in German and pointing of said rather large guns we were on our way.

uk1115-12

Keep calm and relax as my pillow says…

Next we swing by the beautiful city of Cologne and onto the last stretch of 100 miles or so down the A3 to Frankfurt. Easy peasy eh?

uk0715-04

And home at last!!!

R

My home page

Leave a Reply

