A Dogs Perspective: First Weeks In Australia Pt 3

The food in Perth is fresh and yummy both for me and my Humans. Don’t get me wrong Human food in Germany was fantastic (contrary to what a lot of Humans say) but its food for a cold climate. Here in Perth there are many fresh sea food options like snapper,  prawns, scallops, mussels and oysters. Then the local meats are brilliant too. Lamb is my favourite, well I am a Border Collie eh. I have to be very good (or very crafty) to score lamb though… The beef steaks are way up there as well (usually only score these as leftovers or sneak em off the BBQ).

month1-16Another favourite is real fresh Kangaroo from the local supermarket. Now funnily enough I did use to get the canned version of this in Germany as a treat from the local German pet shop but this is so much better.

 

Doggy pals. Now I knew many hunds in Germany and walked with them and their Humans in the forest all the time. My mates there were great and I do miss em all. Here in Perth the dogs all have funny Aussie accents, no kidding! I find em hard to understand at times but they are very friendly. I do wish they would stop adding an “O” to the end of their words and barks though, I’m now Ralpho apparently!

month1-17

 

Our local dog park has some times as many as 10 dogs all playing together, no squabbles. There is this one character, a red border collie called Jonny that gets up my goat though. He is the best ball stealer in the world. He knows just how to distract you when your ball is thrown, then catches it himself and won’t give it back. He often sneaks up behind me and nicks me ball. Very annoying mate! They are a great crowd, even Jonny and he is only a year old after all.

 

 

month1-18

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We are still waiting for our container load of stuff to arrive from Germany. Grumpy Humans says the ship is currently near Hong Kong. Due early March in Fremantle.

 

balls01

 

 

 

This means my precious Ball Collection is on the high seas and at risk.

 

 

 

I’m still nervous about all those nasty Australian critters that can kill you although I haven’t seen any yet I will admit. Having said that, these strange little bitey things the Humans call ants are everywhere and they keep eating my dinner when I’m outside! Australia has the biggest cockroaches I have ever seen, 3 or 4 cm long, Boss-Human screamed a blood curdling shout when she saw one the other day. If she is scared of em then that’s good enough for me too, I hid under Princess-Humans bed for ages. They look big enough to pick me up and fly off with me I reckon.

I did see a shark in the Swan River but my Humans assured me it was a dolphin. Curley Human was chuffed  that she could tell her mates back in Germany and England that she sees Dolphins playing in the river on her way to school in the morning! One up on the old story she used to tell her classmates about riding Kangaroos to school I suppose!

So bottom line? Has Transportation to Australia been good so far? Hell Yeah! I haven’t had so much fun since I was a pup at puppy school or the days I got to roll in fox poo.

month1-14

 

Sorry Germany, I love and miss you too but Perth is a pretty nice place to live, just saying.

 

 

R

My home page

 

2 thoughts on “A Dogs Perspective: First Weeks In Australia Pt 3

Leave a Reply

