An Anniversary and Ralphing At The V.E.T’s

I’m not happy! I have a figurative bone to pick with me Humans. Hey, I’d pick an actual bone if I could with em! Today is my one year anniversary of arriving in Australia.

arv1

Now I was thinking a nice outing at the Dog Beach then some treats at home but no…

It all started this afternoon as I was assuming my normal position in the Kitchen while Boss-Human was preparing the evening meal. You just never know what opportunities arise if you are in the right place at the right time. Once I got a whole steak which “accidentally” fell off the kitchen bench…

Anyway there I was observing the proceedings of a large chunk of meat being unpacked ready for the oven. Low and behold a piece of what looked to me like a fine dog sized morsel fell out of the packaging and onto the floor. Well ya don’t have to tell me twice, I was on it like a dog to a Putty-Tat! Snafued it so quick Boss-Human nearly missed it.

Sadly, she didn’t miss the incident however and the next think I know all hell breaks loose. There’s talk of the murderous V.E.T again… everyone’s crowding around looking at me like I’m about to explode. All I feel is the last traces of yummy-ness passing down me throat. What are these Humans of mine on eh? It’s a reminder of the time I ate a yummy rather large bone in Germany which upset me Humans no end… Humans are weird sometimes, just a dogs observation.

 

ralphvet17-02

 

Now here is a picture of said morsel of meaty goodness, now I’m not talking about the meat itself, its the white stuff next to it which in my case was filled with so much meaty juices it had turned black.

 

 

Listening to me humans discuss this it turns out that you are not supposed to eat the absorbent meat pads. I say why the bloody-hell not? Why put it in with the meat if you are not supposed it eat it eh? Humans…

After a quick squizz on-line by Boss-Human and a call to the local V.E.T I hear that I’m off to visit me not so favourite place again – oh bugger, here we go again…

This is what the V.E.T explained to my Humans about the scoffing of said meat pad:


These absorbent pads from the bottom of the meat trays are very attractive to dogs! Most of the time these will pass through a dog’s intestines and come out in their poop. However, there is a possibility that the pad can cause an obstruction. The pads are meant to soak up moisture and so they can become very large in the stomach or intestines.

Signs of an obstruction include:

  • Vomiting
  • Straining to poop
  • Painful belly
  • Lethargy
  • No appetite

If your dog has any of these symptoms then a vet visit is a good idea. If your dog has eaten this within the last hour you may want to consider asking your vet to induce vomiting.

I hope everything “comes out” ok!

The Vet


 

ralphvet17-01

On reading the advice of it being less than an hour since me incident I find myself at the V.E.Ts. The dodgy Vet guy tries to shove something down me throat, apparently to make me throw up me tasty morsel. I won’t have it and nearly bite his hand off. Boss-Human has a go, well what can I do, she’s The Boss right? So I swallow the tablet or whatever it was. Within seconds I’m outside giving up me morsel and much of me lunch too into the garden.

What a fiasco and now I’m bloody hungry to boot! Happy anniversary to me, grumble grumble …

R

Home

2 thoughts on “An Anniversary and Ralphing At The V.E.T’s

Leave a Reply

