A Border Collie’s European Summer Adventure, Part 1

Now as I put paw to keyboard, it’s a rainy 16C here in so called sunny Perth, Western Australia. Second coldest summer day on record apparently!  So without a summer adventure to tell you about so far this year and feeling like I’m back in Europe I am reminded of one adventure a couple of years ago. It all started…

It was a hot Central European late July summer when we packed up the car at our home in Hofheim, Germany and headed for Croatia.

croatia14-003

Had I realised that it would be a 3000 km (1800 miles) round trip I might have said to me Humans – “.

croatia14-000
Nah, I’m good, you guys have a great trip!

To this day I never quite know if we have a 10 hour journey ahead of us or a trip to the dog park when I get in the car.

Vet4-02   Vet4-03

Have me passport… Check! We are going to be crossing many international borders.

croatia14-1

The first leg of our trip, a 14 hour journey to Zagreb, the capital of Croatia started out with me being bundled into the car at some ungodly hour, way too early in the morning to be civilised.

croatia14-002
Cripes guys, its a little crowded. I tell ya wot, I’ll stay behind so ya have more room…
uk1115-12
Grumble… grumble…

Our journey wound its way through south eastern Germany to the Austrian border at a little village called Etzelshofen where the German A3 autobahn meets the Austrian A8 motorway. Since we were on a mission to get to Zagreb before night-fall we hardly stopped at all.

croatia14-006

I glimpsed some wonderful scenery out the window so it was rather sad that we didn’t stop more often.

croatia14-004

Sprinting through a small section of Slovenia we finally crawled into Zagreb in the late afternoon. After 14 bloody hours, I can tell you I was in need of a wee and a few refreshments…

croatia14-005

I could have killed for a beer me self… Actually you can get dog beer in Germany, check this out:

PShop-17

 

Just as I was starting to relax at a local restaurant near our hotel and could smell the lovely Croatian BBQ’s being prepared I see the waiter spot me handsome self-curled up next to me Humans and I see his lip curl up with a disdainful look…

croatia14-007

Ohh oh… I sneak back under the table hoping he will forget me. But no. He starts telling my Humans that dogs are not allowed in his restaurant, something about the “Great dog debacle of 2005” whatever that was, it wasn’t me mate, honest!

After some slick negotiations with me Humans and due to the fact he didn’t want to lose the business of 4  hungry Humans and a BC we move down to a room in the basement  where I am allowed… grudgingly to remain hidden under the table.

A huge plate if lamb and other local meats arrives. Boy! Me Humans better let me have some that or there will be trouble!

croatia14-008

And as usual I do me rounds of me gullible humans who each sneak a tasty morsel under the table to me thinking no one else has, heh heh…

croatia14-009

 

It turns out Croatia is not as dog friendly as Germany but at least I’m aloud to stay at the hotel as I know me Humans checked and booked in advance. Lucky or I might have been sleeping in the bloody car, I had had just about enough of the car on that trip!

In the next instalment I will fill you in on our trip from Zagreb down the western part of Croatia bordering the Adriatic Sea on our way to Dubrovnik.

 

One thought on “A Border Collie’s European Summer Adventure, Part 1

  1. WHAT?! Not a dog friendly restauranteur? Good grief, how could someone as cute as you not be welcomed with open arms, red carpet even in their restaurant? If I hadn’t read it myself, I’d have thought you were in the US where culture seems a little further behind on many things civilized, not just for not allowing dogs to dine with their uprights.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

