A Border Collie’s European Summer Adventure, Part 7: Oysters and The Great Wall of Croatia

croatia14-403
And yes, these are Mali Ston oysters.

As many of you who have followed me blog for a while will know I am rather fond of our planets oceans and rivers, I love to swim! And… just sayin… I ‘m rather partial to the odd morsel of sea food too. My absolute fav is tuna but coming a close second would be salmon then ya shelf fishes such as oysters and mussels.

So it was with great enthusiasm that I hopped in the car for the short trip north of Dubrovnik to the Croatian coastal town of Mali Ston, home of the best oysters in the world (so the locals say). It means Little Ston in Croatian and sure enough it has a big brother town up the road just called Ston. You Humans are so creative in your naming heh heh.

croatia14-701

Now Mali Ston did to me seem to need a little tender loving care as you can see by this pile of rubble…

croatia14-702

Having said that, Mali Ston and afore mentioned Ston are connected by a magnificent wall running for many kilometres and known locally as Ta Da… “The Great Wall of Croatia”! Bet ya didn’t know Croatia had its very own Great Wall did ya? Pretty impressive eh? I’d really like to see the Chinese one mind you, I’ve only seen pictures from me Humans travels there before I was born.

croatia14-703

Built in the fourteenth century as a defensive wall for some old salt farms apparently, lot of effort for some salt, go figure… I guess the stuff was worth more back then. More info from good old Wikipedia here.

Now back to the main subject of Mali Ston, oysters. And I can see the oysters being farmed just out there. Definitely swimable.

croatia14-704

croatia14-705
Come on ya wimpy Humans we can make it to the oyster beds, no worries!

 

croatia14-706
Hold on Princess-Human  we’ll be there in a jiffy, I promise…

 

croatia14-707

Well, we’re back on dry land after aborting the trip to the oyster beds. My Humans stopped me, something about a crazy lunatic Croat yelling at us about disturbing the oyster beds.

Ok so swimming for ya oysters wasn’t really a goa then so plan B, persuade me Humans to have lunch in that Taverna Restaurant we passed on the way here.

croatia14-708

Forget the poses and photo ops, its oysters we are after mate, beautiful as this Mali Ston harbour is!

croatia14-710

More action little less talk me Humans, oysters I say!

croatia14-711

Well at least they bought me two Oysters but you should have seen the ones me Humans scoffed! They were pretty bloody marvellous though I will say.

Now one last thing. Many people have said: are Mali Ston oysters really as good as they say? Some even say the best in the world. In my humble but well-travelled Border Collie opinion: You bet ya white BC socks they are! And if you don’t believe me read this BBC travel link on that very topic.

Now I think you have all heard enough of this European Summer holiday so I won’t go into the details of the long trip home to Frankfurt, Germany. I will say that we drove back through Italy! Finally I got to see a little of Italy. We even visited Venice. If there is enough interest I may blog about me trip on a Gondola in Venice one day…

ven1
Hey Guys, this looks kinda dangerous…

For now this is Ralph signing off. Time for rounding up a few humans for some ball catching at the park me thinks.

R

Home

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Border Collie’s European Summer Adventure, Part 7: Oysters and The Great Wall of Croatia

  1. What a fantastic outing, Ralph! Some gorgeous pics there. So glad the pawrents [finally] ponied up some oysters for the poor starving BC. Sheesh, uprights are so clueless to canine needs sometimes. As for Venice, I hope that was only a rhetorical question. This pup barks a resounding YES, YES, YES!
    Your fur-iend,
    Sam🐾

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

