They Forgot Me Birthday!

First thing this morning I was pestering me Humans for prezzies and birthday food… Nothin… It was like it was just any other day!

I’m 5 years old now, 35 in ya human years…and it’s me Birthday today.

pup1
That’s me on the left, the handsome dude next to me sis when I was 3 months old. My very first photo.

Born in Ireland under dubious circumstances that I don’t remember and my Humans don’t know about. They rescued me from a dog shelter in the New Forest of Southern England in 2012.

 

 

bday17-01

 

 

 

 

 

This is getting serious! Me day wears on as everyone disappears, going about their business. I’m still waiting for me walk, birthday cake, me prezzies…. Still nothin…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Boss Human comes home in the afternoon and I smell a rat. Well not literally obviously (well actually I do outside but that’s another story). There is a suspicious bulge in her bag and the smell of new packaging… could that be me prezzy?

bday17-02

After she dumps her bag and while my Humans are occupied I take the opportunity to check it out. I stick me head in the said bag… Yep, an undeclared package that me as the self appointed “Border Collie er… Control… Officer”, better have a closer look at.

But before I can inspect the mysterious package I hear the W.A.L.K. words. Me dim Human think by spelling it I don’t know what they are talking about but I do. I immediately head “stage left” for the front door at high speed deftly picking up a ball as I go. As me usual enthusiastic squealing reaches a fever pitch, the front door is opened and I burst out, heading for the car.

bday17-03

We take-off down the road towards the dog park but suddenly turn right instead of left.

Oy! Humans… Dog Park… other way… Me Humans mutter under their breaths “at least he has stopped squeaking”. Hey I don’t squeak, I’m just releasing my inner dog spirit when I’m on me way to the dog park!

bday17-04

OK, we have come to Quarantine Park, I like Quarantine Park, and its sunsets are brilliant too. Not as many dogs here because in general you are not allowed off-lead but a nice view and I love chasing me ball as it rolls full-speed down the hill (My Humans cheat and let me off-lead if no ones around. Hope that pesky ranger doesn’t spot me).

bday17-05

And… Oh look! There is a cake for me, you bloody Humans tricked me! But I love ya anyway. It’s made of me fav ingredients too. Tuna sandwiched between chicken and rice rolls and topped off with cheese. I better watch me weight after this one me thinks.

bday17-06
Heh heh… I knew they wouldn’t forget me prezzies!

bday17-07

It’s the dimming of the day as the sun sets over the Swan River so we decide to head home to greet me other Humans and of course open me prezzies and eat me cake too!

 

bday17-08
Cake smelling good me Family!
bday17-09
I’m not good at puffing out fires lit on cakes. Me Humans do it all the time…
bday17-10
Now that’s what I’m talking about

This is good tucker,  I need this more often! Now to me prezzies…

 

bday17-17

Hard work this opening prezzies but I think I’m about done. It seems I have another dumbbell type ball and some flying saucer thingy, not sure what that ones about yet. Love em!

bday17-18
I think you will find… that’s mine mate!

bday17-19

And that’s it for a great birthday that got off to a rocky start!

See ya soon

R

Home

 

5 thoughts on “They Forgot Me Birthday!

Leave a Reply

