A Dogs Perspective: First Weeks In Australia Pt 2

A strange thing has happened to me in the last month, get this… I love The Car! Who knew eh? Remember my blogs on The Car in Germany? I hated the infernal contraption.

month1-08

Reasons I Hate The Car (From Germany updates for Australia)

Number One. Motorcycles.  Motorcycles, the most deadly thing known to man or dog, get them off the road I say. They zoom right past the car window with that dreadful racket they make, peering  in at you with that sinister helmet thingy on their heads. I just have to bark back to warn em off,  even if my Humans yell at me for my well placed comment on the demented thing. Update: Yep still hate em! And will bark vigorously to indicate this.

Number Two. The Withering Look.  There you are in The Car, parking up somewhere and I can see out my windows we are 1mm  on the white line, next thing you know the Human parked next to you gets out and give my Humans the “Withering Look”. I make a well directed  bark and this time my Humans do seem to encourage me. I mean what is the problem eh? I know  Humans in this part of the world, particularly older Humans have mastered this Withering Look but really, for parking? If you are not careful it will strike you blind I’m certain of that. Update: Not a problem in Australia, you should see how higgledy piggledy they park here and no one gets upset and so no need for the withering look.

I was wondering if there is an equivalent with Hunds. And yes it does happen! You go on a nice walk with your Humans, a passing  Hund and Human wanders by and as I have me ball (as you do) and the Hund does not (not allowed) I get a Withering Look as if I should give up my ball, come on mate it aint going to happen… Update: No withering looks from other dogs but they do try and steal your ball if you are not quick enough. Positively kleptomaniacs some of these Aussie dogs – yeah Jonny I mean you mate…

Number Three. Pit Stops (or lack thereof)   This is a biggie, when you get into The Car you just have absolutely no idea how long you are going to be in the thing. Once we drove 15 hours, admittedly with a few brief pit stops but come on guys… And when we do stop, I NEED greenery to do my thing (the odd tree helps), not concrete… And will you stop looking at me please, please… Update: Well so far no long trips so no worries. Longest trip in The Car has been  the 30 minutes from the airport to home when I arrived.

Number Four. Curley’s Music  That strange beat music Curley-Human listens to, it drives me crazy, especially through the tinny headphones, what about a bit of “Who let the dogs out, woof woof “, “Give the dog a bone – AC/DC”  or “Walking The Dog – Timbuk3” eh? Update, what can I say, still drives me crazy…

Number Five. Back Seat Drivers (and I really do mean literally in the back of The Car)

The Car-5 If you are riding in the back of The Car like me then there is almost always the nose cone of an Audi or BMW  a few millimetres from your head. You can see the whites of the drivers eyes as the Human tries to will you out of the way. Grumpy-Human just says “what’s behind me is not important” but he’s not sitting in the back with a obsessed manic trying to mow him down … Update: Perth drivers are even crazier than German drivers. They don’t know how to merge, they race through red lights, there is no lane etiquette  just “me first” any lane will do, but they don’t seem to tail-gate.

The main thing is that every trip I do in The Car is a delight now, it always ends in something exciting like the beach, the ball park, the river or picking up the Wee-Humans from school. And so far no car trips to the VET which is a plus too.

One last thing, Grumpy-Humans Jag was shipped to Perth from Europe a couple of months ago.

snow1115-04
The Jag back in Germany a few months ago

And has just arrived.

 

month1-10
The Jag and me in Perth. I could probably dive through that window while the Humans are distracted…

He never lets me ride in it on account of the fact that I shed my fur. It mystifies me as you should see the hair Curley-Human sheds! Anyway there is hope for me to score a ride now that we will be using it as an every-day car here in Perth. More later when I get that ride.

R

My home page

 

4 thoughts on “A Dogs Perspective: First Weeks In Australia Pt 2

  1. This is great. Love it. We have a dog car for going to the beach. I think yu’ll look great in the Jag, Ralph although it might cramp your style. Aussie Border Collies usually travel in a weird Australian car called a ute and sad BC is tied up out the back to feel the wind blowing through your fur. Grouse mate!
    Anyway, you can always pretend it’s not yours. I’ve done this myself…parked around the corner. When I’m out in our dog mobile, I park around 2 corners and wear my sunglasses as well. It needs a coat of paint.
    Anyway, sounds like you’re settling in well!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

