Castles in a Heat Wave

Border Collie Ralph in a Heatwave

There has been a major heatwave in Germany this last week. It’s been hot, really hot. Even hotter than my last blog on matters hot. Over 40C a couple of days and even at night it stayed hot. I’d sneak down to the basement during the night when my Humans were asleep, way cooler down there and a big comfy sofa to lie on too. Sadly one night it was so hot I snuck down stairs only to find Grumpy-Human had stolen my spot, what rotten luck! Of course he is from New Zealand, not Australia so was feeling the heat like me. After a bit of a confrontation over who got the comfy sofa we agreed to share.

Now even my Aussie Humans were thinking this is a bloody hot week. What did they do? They decided to go on a castle adventure or two and drag me along as well.

A border collie dog called Ralph looking hot and bothered  Just great… Not! Guys it must be over 50C in here, not good for us dogs, just saying… This is way to hot for touristing, what are you thinking Humans? Leave me at home on guard duty will ya.

First up apparently is some stuffy old pile of rocks in the woods some where a few hours from home in the Moselle Valley…

And what do you know, we head up the Rhein Valley first and pass castles on the way to a castle, go figure that.

Castle   Rheinfels Castle at St Goar

Castle   Marksburg Castle

Finally we reach our destination

A border Collie at Castle Eltz  That will be the castle this way then…

Castle Eltz in the Moselle River valley between Koblenz and Trier. Its one of those fairy tale castles built in the 12th century and so loved by Disneyland. It took us just over an hour to get here from home and as it turns out the new Car has great air-conditioning which we don’t have at home, himmm…  I’m beginning to understand my Humans thinking now.

castles07  Well there is the castle, can we go now, I’m bloody hot!

Castle Eltz

Castle Eltz   Castle Eltz

Happy Border Collie Ralph  Ahhh, back in the air-conditioned car. Time to go guys.

Second up, the next day we headed for Heidelberg Castle, about an hour south of our home.

Heidelberg Castle  So that’s the castle eh, impressive from here

Heidelberg Castle

Heidelberg Castle   What a view back over Heidelberg and the river Neckar.

Heidelberg Castle   Crikey, the castle could do with a spot of work though… Must be stone eating termites.

Ralph Border Collie   Drink time and home time me thinks.

Finally our last castle in the 3 day marathon on castles near us, Biebrich Castle on the Rhein River near Wiesbaden about 30 minutes from our home. Another day, another castle eh?

Biebrich Castle Ralph Border Collie  So there you go guys, another German castle, this one seems in better shape. Built for a German Prince around 1700.

Biebrich Castle

Biebrich Castle

Biebrich Castle Ralph Border Collie  This castle had a park attached so I was in for a real treat of ball throwing from my Humans but boy was it still hot outside.

Ralph Border Collie

Ralph Border Collie   Ralph Border Collie

Ralph Border Collie  Well that’s enough ball catching in this heat, I’m stuffed, where’s me water?

Ralph Border Collie Thirst  God I needed that…

Ralph Border Collie Car   Home James-Human and don’t spare the horses eh?

I’m well and truly castled out or should I say schlossed out? Not sure if the German language allows you to torture it like that but hey, I’m a dog, I can’t speak anyway.

R

My home page

5 thoughts on “Castles in a Heat Wave

Leave a Reply

